Splunk Live and re-entering the blogosphere

Back in January I set myself a goal of blogging at least once a week and did a pretty good job until late Feb. Like many of us I’ve been flat out in the day job and not finding time, or energy, for reflection and discussion. Earlier this week over coffee I was discussing the importance of making time to stay abreast of the industry and networking with fellow professionals. My coffee date referenced a cartoon set in medieval times where a king is standing at the gates of his castle fighting off an invading horde, swinging his sword at a never ending army. Behind him is a man holding a gattling gun saying “do you have a minute to talk?” and the king, not looking behind him, responds “I don’t have time for a meeting”. I’ve spent the last few months fighting a few battles and it’s left me wondering how many gattling gun bearing meeting requestors I’ve declined.

Today I gave a presentation at Splunk live in Melbourne (I’ll also be at the Sydney event later this week) covering three use cases for Splunk at realestate.com.au. The presentation reminded me of the importance of active community involvement, networking, and staying abreast of the market. Over the course of my presentation today I think I may have provided a few people with their own gattling guns and I certainly saw some powerful weapons coming down the Splunk production line. But most importantly it was awesome talking to fellow IT professionals, sharing war stories, hearing what they are working on, problems they are facing, and innovative solutions they have come up with. So tonight I’m inspired to get back into the blogosphere 🙂 I can’t promise I’ll stick to my weekly blogging aspirations but I will do my best.

I’ll post my slides from Splunk live later this week

Leave a Reply

